St. Clair County Transit District Announces Service Changes Set for June 15

To streamline services and meet the changing needs of its customer base, St. Clair County Transit District (SCCTD) today announced two bus route changes that will go into effect on Monday, June 15. This includes the suspension of the #2X Waterloo-Columbia Express and the discontinuation of the #7 Fairmont City MetroBus route. Alternative service options are available for impacted customers. These are two of the 15 planned route changes detailed in SCCTD’s Transit Vision 2020 Network Plan. Due to COVID-19 service adjustments and operator shortages, additional route changes are being postponed by Metro Transit, SCCTD’s contracted transit provider.

The SCCTD board adopted the Transit Vision 2020 Network Plan to increase the operating hours of bus service by 18 percent,” commented Herb Simmons, Chair of the St. Clair County Transit District Board of Trustees. “While that is still our goal, additional changes will have to wait to be implemented. Metro is adapting to many challenges posed by COVID-19 including bus operator shortages. We know Metro will need more time to resume to full operation on weekday services before it can provide the additional services requested by SCCTD. We will keep our customers updated along the way. In the meantime, we are confident the two route changes taking place on June 15 will prove advantageous.”

The #2X Waterloo-Columbia Express MetroBus route to the 5th & Missouri MetroLink Station will be replaced by the #2 Cahokia route. This route will connect with Monroe-Randolph Transit District (MRTD) routes. MRTD will have two morning buses starting at the 4th and Library stop in Waterloo. The first will depart weekdays at 5:45 a.m., arrive at 6:00 a.m. at Main @ Whiteside in Columbia, then 6:05 a.m. at 181 Columbia Center in Columbia and at 6:15 a.m. at Dupo Railroad, where riders can catch the #2 Cahokia route. The other will start at 6:30 a.m., arrive at 6:45 a.m. at Main @ Whiteside in Columbia, then 6:50 a.m. at 181 Columbia Center in Columbia and at 7:00 a.m. at Dupo Railroad. Two return routes in the evening will be begin at the Dupo Railroad at 4:45 p.m. and 5:15 p.m. Metro Transit fare tickets and passes will be accepted aboard the MRTD route.

The #7 Fairmont City MetroBus route is being replaced with an on-demand, shared-ride SCCTD Flyer service. The SCCTD Flyer costs $3 per one-way trip to or from one of four local MetroLink Stations — 5th & Missouri, Emerson Park, Washington Park and JJK Center — and connecting MetroBus routes within the boundaries of East St. Louis and Fairmont City. Transfers are not included. Service is available weekdays between 6 a.m. and 7 p.m. and can be scheduled by calling (618) 800-6884 or downloading the TransLoc app, which is available through the Apple Store or Google Play. Passes can be paid for through the app or at the East Riverfront MetroLink Station, East St. Louis Township Building, Gateway Market, Neighbors Marketplace and Quick Bite at the Belleville MetroLink Station. No cash fares will be accepted.